Labor Party Form Government

Saturday, 21st August 2010

The final result of the election gave Prime Minister Gillard's Australian Labor Party 72 seats and the Liberal-National Party Coalition headed by Tony Abbott 73 seats. Four seats went to Independents and one to a member of the Greens Party. In order for Miss Gillard to form the government, she need 76 seats. Eventually the three Independents and the one elected Greens candidate threw their support behind the Labor Party, giving them a majority of 76 seats.

Newer Log  2010  Older Log


There's nothing like Australia


2010 All